F1 Blog – The Formula 1 Blog

News And Views From The World Of F1

More information emerges on Sky/BBC TV Deal

Posted by Euan on August 3, 2011 | No Comments

More information has emerged on Sky Sports and the BBC’s deal to share the broadcasting rights to Formula 1. Despite a huge uproar from the vast majority of British F1 fans it seems that there is no going back on this deal. Those running the BBC and F1 have ruined things for many fans, through their respective cheap-skatery and greed. The BBC have come under particular criticism, with many licence fee payers questioning the value for money they are getting after the loss of half of the 2012 F1 races. This is particularly the case since the BBC bought the rights to F1 as an alternative for sports fans to England and FA Cup football. To be honest I would not be surprised if the BBC lose all broadcasting rights to F1 well before this new deal expires in 2018. Channel 4 have expressed an interest but it is more than likely this deal will start the shift towards Formula 1 becoming exclusive to Sky Sports.

Some good news for F1 fans has come out though. For those that have or will have Sky Sports, the broadcaster has confirmed that the in-race add breaks which marred ITV’s coverage will not be present on Sky. On the BBC side of things, the BBC will get to show three of the biggest races of the season – the British Grand Prix, the Monaco Grand Prix, and the final grand prix of the season. However, this could mean that Sky will dominate the races leading up to the end of the season, meaning that some F1 fans may miss out on live coverage of the championship-deciding race.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • MySpace
  • Tumblr


Leave a Reply

  • Drivers Championship 2013

    1 Kimi Raikkonen 25
    2 Fernando Alonso 18
    3 Sebastian Vettel 15
    4 Felipe Massa 12
    5 Lewis Hamilton 10
    6 Mark Webber 8
    7 Adrian Sutil 6
    8 Paul Di Resta 4
    9 Jenson Button 2
    10 Romain Grosjean 1

  • Constructors Championship 2013

    1 Ferrari 30
    2 Lotus 26
    3 Red Bull 23
    4 Mercedes 10
    5 Force India 10
    6 McLaren 2
    7 Toro Rosso 0
    8 Sauber 0
    9 Williams 0
    10 Marussia 0
    11 Caterham 0