F1 Blog – The Formula 1 Blog

News And Views From The World Of F1

FIA to vote on ridiculous engine change proposal

Posted by Euan on December 6, 2010 | No Comments

Despite much opposition the FIA will vote on whether to introduce new 1.6 litre 4 cylinder engines to Formula 1. The FIA hope to make F1 greener by downsizing the engines the cars will use. The FIA is aiming for a 50% increase in fuel efficiency, with a 10,000 RPM limit also being introduced. However, horsepower output will be kept to around 600-750 through the use of turbos and the KERS system; the KERS system is already set to return to Formula 1 in 2011.

Ferrari and Mercedes have made it known that they oppose the changes, but will most likely accept any decision the FIA makes. Bernie Ecclestone is also against the decision, and shares my own opinion that a dramatic change like this will damage the most important thing in any sport – competition. Although I am all for fuel efficiency, me and Mr. Ecclestone greatly fear that by implementing these changes it will only play into the hands of one or two big teams, meanwhile many others will suffer. In particular, I am worried that it could drive smaller teams such as Hispania and Sauber out of the sport.

All of these expensive changes feel especially misplaced coming in a time when the FIA has been pushing cost cutting in Formula 1. This concern had been brought up by Ferrari and Mercedes as part of their opposition.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • MySpace
  • Tumblr


Leave a Reply

  • Drivers Championship 2013

    1 Kimi Raikkonen 25
    2 Fernando Alonso 18
    3 Sebastian Vettel 15
    4 Felipe Massa 12
    5 Lewis Hamilton 10
    6 Mark Webber 8
    7 Adrian Sutil 6
    8 Paul Di Resta 4
    9 Jenson Button 2
    10 Romain Grosjean 1

  • Constructors Championship 2013

    1 Ferrari 30
    2 Lotus 26
    3 Red Bull 23
    4 Mercedes 10
    5 Force India 10
    6 McLaren 2
    7 Toro Rosso 0
    8 Sauber 0
    9 Williams 0
    10 Marussia 0
    11 Caterham 0