F1 Blog – The Formula 1 Blog

News And Views From The World Of F1

Good Riddance to USF1

Posted by Carrot on June 25, 2010 | No Comments

This sorry saga is finally over.

During the extraordinary hearing that was held in Geneva on 23 June 2010, the Judging Body of the World Motor Sport Council examined, in application of the new disciplinary procedure adopted at the beginning of 2010, the failure of the USF1 Team to take part in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship, for which it had been selected and had registered.

Having had this disciplinary procedure submitted to it by the FIA President (who was not present at the hearing but represented by an external lawyer), the Judging Body of the World Motor Sport Council has found the USF1 team guilty of having infringed the FIA International Sporting Code, the sporting regulations of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship and the obligations resulting from its entry in this Championship.

In these circumstances, the Judging Body of the World Motor Sport Council has decided to impose the following sanctions against USF1:

a fine of 309,000 euros (a sum equivalent to the Entry Fees for the Championship);

the disqualification of USF1 (which definitively deprives USF1 of the right to take part, in any way whatsoever, in any competition);

and the payment of the costs incurred by the FIA within the context of this disciplinary procedure.

With their equipment being auctioned last week there was no way that they were going to turn up to a Grand Prix and race anyway, but the decision prevents them from selling their slot to someone else for the rest of the season. Hopefully this decision will remain fresh in the minds of the FIA when they decide the new entrant for 2011 and the two bids connected with this abortion of a team come up.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • MySpace
  • Tumblr


Leave a Reply

  • Drivers Championship 2013

    1 Kimi Raikkonen 25
    2 Fernando Alonso 18
    3 Sebastian Vettel 15
    4 Felipe Massa 12
    5 Lewis Hamilton 10
    6 Mark Webber 8
    7 Adrian Sutil 6
    8 Paul Di Resta 4
    9 Jenson Button 2
    10 Romain Grosjean 1

  • Constructors Championship 2013

    1 Ferrari 30
    2 Lotus 26
    3 Red Bull 23
    4 Mercedes 10
    5 Force India 10
    6 McLaren 2
    7 Toro Rosso 0
    8 Sauber 0
    9 Williams 0
    10 Marussia 0
    11 Caterham 0